cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using STM32cubeIDE and FreeRTOS - build Debug can't find cmsis_os.h. Release build completes with no issues.

GBrow.3
Associate II

I'm fairly new to STM32CubeIDE having used Keil uV for projects so I'm just not seeing the obvious here.

No issues with build prior to enabling the FreeRTOS for NUCLEO-G474RE development target.

Enable the FreeRTOS and build Release - no issues, completes with no errors.

If I build for Debug (intend to load on Nucleo target using STLink - I get:

../Core/Src/main.c:22:10: fatal error: cmsis_os.h: No such file or directory

22 | #include "cmsis_os.h"

|      ^~~~~~~~~~~~

compilation terminated.

I've tried to add project paths to Run/Debug settings but did not change the outcome.

Appreciate the community's help!

STM32CubeIDE

Version: 1.8.0

Build: 11526_20211125_0815 (UTC)

(C) 2021 STMicroelectronics ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

OK, I've probably done something close to what you have done.

You can do exactly that, import the ICO file into another project. If you're using an ST board (disco, etc), you may want to set the pin assignments to default, since that tracks the actual board hardware (which is not always the default settings, which can change)

Since you can't have a project with two main.c files (or shouldn't!), it sounds as if when importing the IOC file, you created a new project in the same directory as possibly the old one, or at least, the same workspace.

You might want to check where things are, and remove the older project. Eclipse will allow multiple projects in a workspace, but I tend to avoid it.

A preferred (because it works) structure is to have a directory which has a folder of "subsystems", which contains all the files I use, system files, driver files, specific hardware (I do use an RTOS), categorized as I like.