cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB_OTG_HS fails on STM32H723VGT

FredS
Senior

 Hallo everyone,

I tried to export the measured data of my project on a WeAct-3.0 STM32H723 board as an USB_OTG_HS stream to a Virtual COM Port on my Windows desktop. Unfortunately, I fail to get this operational, despite many trial and error attempts. Finally I reduced the challenge to just writing a test-string to USB, but even this minimal task doesn't even invokes a port in the Windows Device Manager.

Still being a beginner, I work with STM32CubeIDE, version 1.16. I created a new project, configured the HSE with a 25MHz crystal, configured the CPU clock @ 250MHz, and the USB clock @ 48MHz via HSI48. I configured an uint8_t array 'text' with a string constant assigned to it. Finally in the main 'while()' loop, I invoke the statements:

Return_CDC_Transmit = CDC_Transmit_HS(Txt, sizeof(Txt));
HAL_Delay(1000);
Count++;

When I run this project with the Debugger, I see the value of 'Return_CDC_Transmit' become 1 (Busy) and 'Count' increasing every second (as expected). However, as there is no VCP, I cannot receive the bytes.

I have tried to inform myself better by reading the USB_OTG chapter in RM0468, but soon found this a useless track for me: I became overwhelmed with a flood of descriptions for all different cases supported, obscuring what I need to know. Searching the internet for descriptions of similar cases gave no clues that helped me out. Also the various introductions and tutorials I found don't provide me info to zoom in on the cause of the failure.