Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F746-Disco QuadSPI Bare Metal Indirect Read No Communication

ilyus
Senior II

Win 10, STM32CubeIDE 1.8.0

STM32F746-Disco

I'm learning QuadSPI and doing everything in bare metal with C, it gives me understanding of hardware.

QSPI Flash IC, mouser, with datasheet

Short summary of the problem: indirect read from QuadSPI Flash, no communication on datalines, Fifo treshold flag always set.

I've never worked with QuadSPI before, so I read the reference manual of STM32F746, seemed more or less clear, at least I was ready to give it a shot, it usually works this way.

I used TouchGFX generated code, which I opened in STM32CubeIDE, to grab some parameters of QuadSPI, and I also used a breakpoint while running TouchGFX program to check if my QuadSPI registers have same or similar values and if there is nothing important missing (since TouchGFX uses QuadSPI Flash differently, for one, not in indirect mode). I made sure my GPIO are configured identically, everything is clocked, etc.

So, here is how I setup the stuff:

void qspi_setup_indirect_mode(void){

//NOR Flash MT25QL128ABA 128Mb=16MB

/*
	 * Control Register
	 * Prescaler: Fclock = AHBclock/2
	 * FIFO Threshold: FTF is set when 4 or more bytes available to be written to FIFO
	 * */
	QUADSPI->CR |= QUADSPI_CR_ABORT; //abort ongoing commands
	while(QUADSPI->CR & QUADSPI_CR_ABORT); //wait while aborted
	QUADSPI->CR = 0x00; //reset register
	QUADSPI->CR |= QUADSPI_CR_SSHIFT | (0x03 << QUADSPI_CR_FTHRES_Pos) | (0x01 << QUADSPI_CR_PRESCALER_Pos);

/*
	 * Device Configuraion register
	 * Clock Mode 0 (default)
	 * Chip Select High Time 6 Cycles
	 * Flash Size 16MB = 2^24 bytes
	 * */
	QUADSPI->DCR = 0x00; //reset
	QUADSPI->DCR |= (0x05 << QUADSPI_DCR_CSHT_Pos) | (23U << QUADSPI_DCR_FSIZE_Pos);

/*
	 * Communication configuration register
	 * Address size 24 bits
	 * */