cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to clone/copy an STMCube Example project

cc2
Associate

Hello,

I'm new to STM32Cube-IDE (and Eclipse). Normally I use the ARM-gcc toolchain and do assembly coding.

I managed to create a New STM Project by using the Example Selector tab in the Target Selection window.

In this case it was the BSP Example for the B-U585I-IOT02A Discovery Kit (with the STM32U585 chip).

After modifying the code in accordance with how-to-use-semihosting-with-stm32cubeide  the code runs OK.

Now I would like to COPY the Project and edit that.

From the multiple "how to clone a project" threads it appears that this is not trivial. (?) One of the threads I read was from 2022 and IDE version 1.8. It seemed that multiple otherwise experienced developers found it odd that this wasn't a straightforward task.

Manually copying and search/replace seems very odd and error-prone.

Has there been any progress on automating this?

In my case there aren't even any .ioc or .project files.

As expected, the following don't work:

Simply copying the Project's directory (in the Workspace directory)

Using File->Open Projects From File System...

For now, I have created a new workspace and reimported the STM32Cube Example. But now I have to redo the edits and modifications to get the semihosting working again...

As an aside, at the end of the Example import I get the following (not very informative) error (which I ignore).

Screenshot 2024-08-11 at 02.02.14.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

This is very fast and straighforward:

1. Copy the project directory (so that it is on same directory level, to avoid relative issues)

2. Delete all eclipse dotted sub directories. Keep only .project and .cproject dot files.

2 Edit the .project file and change only the project name there. 

Done. Now import the new project into Eclipse and do REFRESH.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Pavel A.