cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Global variable overlaps with stack.

BigBrick
Associate II

Hi.

I am absolute noob with stm32 and i am currently trying to connect GY-GPS6MV2 module to RobotDyn STM32 Mini(STM32F103C8T6).  I have connected GPS module to pins and set up USART1 in asyncronous mode. I have done everethyng according to official example on how to work with USART1 using DMA. In the interrupt handler i wrote small piece of code to copy data from rx buffer to linked list. But from here things have gone really weird, because in the debugger i see, that my global variable(nmea_head, this is first node in linked list) is allocated in the same memory area where irq handler stack resides(See attached screenshots). What am i doing wrong?
STM32_SP.jpeg

Here you can see, that SP for HAL_UART_RxCpltCallback is at 0x20000104

STM32_Declaration.jpeg

This is definition of global variable nmea_head. On the right side you can see, that it was placed on the address 0x20000110. This address overlaps with stack frame of HAL_UART_RxCpltCallback, so my variable gets corrupted. What am i doing wrong?

This  happens prior to any calls to malloc or free, and i am not accessing this variable from anywhere else, so there should not be any race conditions.

14 REPLIES 14

I checked memory with STM32CubeProgrammer

STM32_Memory.jpeg

0x20005000 is correct value for _estack and 0x080006f9 is address of ResetHandler

STM32_ReadELF.jpeg

So this should mean, that chip should start directly at Reset_Handler without any prior bootloader and msp/sp values should be 0x20005000, right? Because when i break at reset handler i see something different:

STM32_ResetHandler.jpeg

BigBrick
Associate II

I ckecked memory during after reset:

STM32_Boot.jpeg

This is why i have invalid SP/MSP. But where does this value come from?