cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error: cannot open jar file c:\Program::

DIngr.1
Associate II

Issue #1: I am using the latest Versions of CubeMX and CubeIce running Windows 10. I have been using the these for several months. In the Past I could double-click the .project file for a project and cubeide would launch and load the project. Now, that doesn't work. I get the message "Error: cannot open jarfile c:\program" in a pop-up box titled "java virtual machine launcher". I have re-installed java jre-1.8.0.281. The project of interest can still be imported into cubeide an modified (except as below).

Note that I updated to the latest version of cubeide after noticing this problem in an earlier version. Did a windows update crate the problem??

Any suggestions??

6 REPLIES 6
Julien D
ST Employee

This is unfortunately a well known regression introduced in 1.6.1 if your project path contains spaces

A fix will be published with 1.7.0, waiting for this we can only suggest to move your project in a location which has not spaces.

DIngr.1
Associate II

Seems to be much more than that.

1. There are no spaces in the path to the project, only underscores (_). Exception being 'C:\Program Files' .
  2. When I import a project and try to make a copy of a project and save to new location with a different name, I can no longer access the original project
  3. When I use the explorer to copy a project to a totally new folder (with no spaces in path), I cannot load it into CubeIde.

Fortunately, I can continue to work using the trial version of KIELa. but that will only last a short while.

Perhaps the answer is that I installed in the normal "c:\Program Files" folder instead of the default."C:\ST.." folder. I'll reinstall there and try again. if that doesn't work I'll try to go back to ver 1.5 .

Thanks.

It is definitely not recommended to install STM32CubeIDE on long paths, especially not on paths that contain spaces.