cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debugger stuck on random line

The debugger is getting stuck on a random line about 350 lines into main(). There is nothing particular about this line of source code except its location, because if I comment out that line it just stops on the next one, and if I add a line it stops earlier. When the debugger is not active, the source runs just fine without stopping in that area. I have deleted all breakpoints and watchpoints. I have set the optimizations to "off". When the debugger is stuck on that line, its status is "running."

This is my first time debugging this project after converting from TrueStudio. I may need to switch back if I can't find anything else to try.

Any suggestions?

21 REPLIES 21

I'm using the STM32Cube IDE, and stlink debuggers built into development boards. I agree that somewhere there is some hidden code/data that is causing the debugger to halt where it's not wanted.

I don't think software breakpoints are supported with my configuration, or where I would disable them if they were.

I can make a fresh project from CubeMX with the same Cube MX configuration, but when I move my source code into that fresh project and rebuild, the problem moves with it. And to reiterate, source code builds that used to run fine are now also subject to this problem. I just need to figure out where the corruption is and replace that part.

Also a key point is that a colleague can debug the same source code without problems.

Thanks for responding, but I'm only using a lower-clocked run mode when I want to save power, I'm not using sleep or WFI.

My colleague pushed a new version of source code and .ioc file , I updated the CubeMX to the latest version, and magically, I can debug again. See you all in another few months, probably.

Then it looks like the other case discussed here, where re-import of the project into eclipse workspace helped.

-- pa