cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

can't make interrup callback work

Chao
Senior

Hi,

I am a newbie to CubeIDE and STM32 Mcus, and have spent hours trying to make interrupt callback work on a Nucleo-STM32G070 board.

First, I tried HAL_UART_TxCpltCallback for USART2, this function is not called, then I downloaded an example project TIM_TimeBase which works, but when I added the timer 3 into my test project with the same configuration as in the example project, it does not work.

I must have missed something in configuration in my project. 

Chao_0-1707314144251.png

Chao_1-1707314190727.png

the Priority is not configurable

Chao_2-1707314294871.png

Chao_3-1707314348468.png

again, the Priority is not configurable

Chao_4-1707314435175.png

As for the Timer 3, I am a bit confused by the calculation of the prescaler in the example project, could someone clarify it to me:

Chao_5-1707314857870.png

Actually, in system_stm32g0xx.c, it is defined as follow:

uint32_t SystemCoreClock = 16000000U;

Regards

Chao

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Why are you printing one character at a time? Just use pass how many characters you want to send

char str[] = "Hello World\r\n";
HAL_UART_Transmit_IT(&huart2, (uint8_t*)str, strlen(str));

Also you should create a queue buffer to hold multiple messages. Then send the next message in the queue only after you call HAL_UART_Transmit_IT and get a HAL status == HAL_OK. 

If you find my answers useful, click the accept button so that way others can see the solution.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
TDK
Guru

In order for HAL_UART_TxCpltCallback to be called, you need to start UART reception in IT or DMA mode. Are you doing so? Show the code. Are you sure data is coming in on those lines? If you use blocking function call (HAL_UART_Receive), do you get data?

Could be a misunderstanding of what is supposed to be happening here. There are CubeMX examples you can follow for UART.