cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading ADC1 Through STM32MP157F-DK2

Danb127
Visitor

Hi, I’m new to the stm32mp15 series and I’ve been trying to convert code over from a previous microcontroller (stm32f429i-disc1) onto my new MPU. I try to read an input voltage value by running the HAL_ADC_GetValue driver but when I run live expressions to read the variable for my adc value, it is just maxed out at whatever I set the resolution to be (i.e., ADC1 resolution is 12 bits so the value is stuck at 4095). I use STM32CubeMX right now, I enabled continuous conversions but I get stuck at this 4095 value every time I debug and run. Any help or suggestions?

3 REPLIES 3
Danb127
Visitor

To add more info, I am connecting through input channel 1, single-ended mode. I have a wire hooked up to ANA0 and the breadboard and the voltage signal in series with it. 

wkt_1
Visitor

It sounds like you're encountering an issue with your ADC configuration on the STM32MP15 series MPU. Here are some steps and considerations to help you troubleshoot and resolve the issue:

1. Check ADC Configuration in STM32CubeMX

• Resolution: Ensure that the ADC resolution is correctly set to 12 bits in STM32CubeMX.
  • Continuous Conversion Mode: Verify that the continuous conversion mode is enabled. This ensures that the ADC continuously samples and updates the conversion result.
  • Channel Configuration: Double-check that the correct ADC channel is selected and configured for the input you are trying to measure.
  • Sampling Time: Make sure the sampling time is set appropriately for the input voltage and ADC channel.

2. Verify ADC Initialization

Ensure that the ADC is correctly initialized in your code. Typically, this involves:

• Calling the HAL_ADC_Init() function to initialize the ADC with the settings configured in STM32CubeMX.
  • Setting up the ADC channel with HAL_ADC_ConfigChannel().
  • Starting the ADC with HAL_ADC_Start().

3. Check ADC Read Code