cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I2C register map in stm32mp157f-dk2

WLeun.3
Associate III

Hi all,

I am studying the pmic of stm32mp157f-dk2.

My ultimate goal is to write a device tree structure for other pmic chip like tps65 series to replace the stpmic

&i2c4{
	stusb1600@28{
        compatible = "st,stusb1600";
        reg = <0x28>;
        };
	pmic:stpmic@33{
	compatible = "st,stpmic1";
	reg = <0x33>;
        };
};

I am interested in how the reg variable(0x28 and 0x33) are determined. So I go through the data sheet of stm32mp157f.

In table 357, it suggests that 0x00-0x28 are used. As the device tree claim the stusb register should start with 0x28, their register are overlapping with each other.

But stusb1600 datasheet, table 16 suggests that 0x0-0x0a of stusb1600 is reserved.

Although their register are overlapping, they are reserved in stusb1600, so only the mp1 i2c are using those space.

So far, so good.

but for the stusb1600, it require up to 2Fh space. why are the pmic start with 0x33, Shouldn't the pmic register start with 28+2F=57?

I must be missing something important here.

Any clues?

Leung

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PatrickF
ST Employee

Hi @WLeun.3​ ,

you cannot find this information in STM32MP157F Reference Manual as it relates to external components.

The 'reg' in this device tree context refer to external component address on the I2C bus.

See https://wiki.st.com/stm32mpu/wiki/I2C_device_tree_configuration#I-C2-B2C_devices_related_properties

0x28 and 0x33 are respectively the I2C address of the STUSB1600 and STPMIC1 as implemented on STM32MP157F-DK2 board. You could find this information in their respective documentation.

Regards,

In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on 'Select as Best' on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question. See also 'Best Answers'