cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error in "Prepare the Linux® kernel source code"

Sisyphus38
Associate III

Hello,

I tried to apply the step by step "Modify, rebuild and reload the Linux® kernel" form wiki.st .

https://wiki.st.com/stm32mpu/wiki/Getting_started/STM32MP1_boards/STM32MP157x-DK2/Develop_on_Arm%C2%AE_Cortex%C2%AE-A7/Modify,_rebuild_and_reload_the_Linux%C2%AE_kernel

Everything works fine from the first step of the "Getting started " until i uncoutered the error bellow.

Unfortunately i am a complete beginner on these tools and don't understand whats happen.

Thank you by advance for any help.

@PC:~/STM32MPU_workspace/STM32MP15-Ecosystem-v2.0.0/Developer-Package/stm32mp1-openstlinux-5.4-dunfell-mp1-20-06-24/sources/arm-ostl-linux-gnueabi/linux-stm32mp-5.4.31-r0/linux-5.4.31$ make ARCH=arm multi_v7_defconfig "fragment*.config"

HOSTCC scripts/basic/fixdep

HOSTCC scripts/kconfig/conf.o

HOSTCC scripts/kconfig/confdata.o

HOSTCC scripts/kconfig/expr.o

LEX    scripts/kconfig/lexer.lex.c

/bin/sh: 1: flex: not found

scripts/Makefile.host:9: recipe for target 'scripts/kconfig/lexer.lex.c' failed

make[2]: *** [scripts/kconfig/lexer.lex.c] Error 127

Makefile:567: recipe for target 'multi_v7_defconfig' failed

make[1]: *** [multi_v7_defconfig] Error 2

Makefile:326: recipe for target '__build_one_by_one' failed

make: *** [__build_one_by_one] Error 2

22 REPLIES 22

Thanks @Sisyphus38​ , when I repeated the reinstallation, I kept a close eye on the messages fired back and I realized some of the modules were not being installed because of storage space. So I increased the virtual disk in my VMWare from 20GB to 50GB and everything went on smoothly to the end, the only problem still troubling me is that the board returns an IPv6 address only, while the instructions show as if I have to use IPv4.

So now I get stuck on this command trying to communicate between my laptop and the board0693W000007CFAmQAO.jpg 

Sisyphus38