Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How tho change hostname from the default = MACHINE

MKaas.1
Associate III

I have set :

hostname_pn-base-files = "new_host_name"

in my conf file.

This seems changing /etc/hostname in base-files image. However, there is log message telling:

"[   7.249795] systemd[1]: Set hostname to <stm32mp1-disco>."

Also, /etc/hosname contents is "stm32mp1-disco".

I can't find what other recipe/module is dealing with hostname settings.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hello @MKaas.1​ 

I agree with your modification related to hostname_pn-base-files = "new_host_name" in the conf file.

I guess there are some troubles with the dhcp service but I am not an expert on this topic so my piece of advice may be really poor.

We can see this line in the file /etc/dhcp/dhcp.client

request subnet-mask, broadcast-address, time-offset, routers,
       domain-name, domain-name-servers, host-name,
       netbios-name-servers, netbios-scope;

From my understanding, the term «host-name» implies to update the board hostname from the DHCP server. If the DHCP leasing is still active from a previous connection, it may explain the change of your hostname through the DCHP service.

To check this hypothesis, perhaps you could boot your board without any ethernet or wifi connections:

• If the host name changes, it invalidates my hypothesis.
  • If the host name is the one you choose, it means you have a side-effect from the dhcp leasing. In that case, either purge the dhcp server or remove the request «host-name» in the file /etc/dhcp/dhcp.client.

Best regards,

--JM

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Olivier GALLIEN
ST Employee

Hi @MKaas.1​ ,

Sorry for late reply.

I found my side : meta-st/meta-st-stm32mp/conf/machine/stm32mp1-disco.conf:#@NAME: stm32mp1-disco

Hope it help

Olivier

Olivier GALLIEN