cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32WB55 - Update Characteristic and send a Notification

werner_f
Associate II

Hello,

I am pretty new to BLE-Application and trying to build my first own app using the STM-BLE-Stack.

I've been writing about my process in a previous thread (https://community.st.com/t5/stm32-mcus-wireless/stm32wb-ble-update-char-from-main-c/m-p/589220#M16405), but want to be more precise now.

My STM32 should work as server and send sensor data to a client, at first just a smartphone using the BLE Toolbox application.
I generated a project according to ST's YouTube-Tutorial (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CKYWy7LKL68&list=PLnMKNibPkDnG9JRe2fbOOpVpWY7E4WbJ-&index=16) and can read and write to my characteristics from my smartphone.

Now I want to update a BLE-characteristic from my main application, i.e. main.c. I want to transfer sensor data and send a notification to my client that new data is available.

I know about the functions 

aci_gatt_update_char_value()

and in my case (cause I used the custom template)

Custom_STM_App_Update_Char()

, but they are causing HardFaults if I'm calling them in my main-loop.

Can you help me to find the simpliest way to transfer custom data using the BLE interface and triggering a notification that new data is available from the main-function?

Many thanks in advance 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Issamos
Lead II

Hello again @werner_f 

You can keep the program as it is and Always test if Custom_STM_App_Update_Char() is updated . You can change a variable value that you can include in the main.c (as we have done in the first case) and when this variable's value change you can create an acknowledge in the main function (don't forget to send this variable back to the original value to stop this acknowledge and wait for the next one).

Best regards.

II

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Issamos
Lead II

Hello again @werner_f