cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using touchgfx without external RAM

ETale.1
Associate III

I designed a GUI on stm32f746 discovery board and programmed the board successfully and GUI worked perfectly, now I want to redesign the GUI and my programm to be able to use a custom board which doesn't have an external RAM

at first I disabled the MX_FMC_Init fuction but the display is black and nothing shows up, then I read the article below and followed the instruction but display went black again.

I'm a beginner and I would be very gratefull if anyone guides me how to config the CubeMX and touchgfx to work without external RAM.

https://support.touchgfx.com/docs/development/board-bring-up/how-to/03-display-internal

26 REPLIES 26

here is the code I added:

uint8_t framebuffer[480*272];
HAL_LTDC_SetAddress(&hltdc, (uint32_t*)framebuffer, LTDC_LAYER_1);

I write it as example, you need check generated code and locate where touchgfx and cubemx place buffer creation, some version may differ, when you add your code need remove replace other usw.

You need understand how LTDC work.

the code I mentioned is the code that the touchgfx gave in the instruction,

sorry Im a beginner and I dont undrestand what should I do to to locate and change the buffer location.

Ok then start from info in your docu carefully uint16

main.c

uint16_t framebuffer[480*272]; //16 bpp framebuffer

If your internal RAM is not big enough to hold the array, declare a array corresponding to a smaller resolution, say 480x200.

next text say set 0xC0000000 as addr then do it in ltdc . Your docu not say how setup tuchgfx but i recomm single buffer and address by reference

and enter "(uint32_t*)framebuffer" as reference

and

1. HAL_LTDC_SetAddress(&hltdc, (uint32_t*)framebuffer, LTDC_LAYER_1);

Then build and reduce 480xyyy to number when RAM isnt over.

ETale.1
Associate III