cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Notes on my experience getting a TouchGFX project going

I usually use a Mac, but don't hold that against me.

First, no Mac support. You're making me fire up windows, TouchGFX better be good. Fine, move on.

I've gone through the videos and created a few screens and have them running updating values, buttons working, so I'm not a COMPLETE noob, just going through the motions to figure out what a noob might run into.

Create a new project in TouchGFX Designer for STM32F429i-DISC1, call it fu429Disco for a 429 discovery board. Rotate the display by 90 degrees. Generate code and save. (I put 'fu' at the beginning of project names that are throwaway and okay to delete without thinking)

Go into CubeIDE, <File><Open Projects from File System...>. Search around for my project. Go back into Designer and find out that the project was stored in a directory in c:\ instead of my home directory. Why? That's an odd decision, isn't Windows a multi-user OS? Aren't you supposed to keep your files out of the root directory? That was a rule 20 years ago. Whatever, move on.

Back to the <Open Projects from File System...>, it finds TWO projects in my project. Confusing, which do I choose? Fine, do both. Looks okay. Is it correct? (shrug)

Open the only .IOC file in the file list ...  "Invalid Input: Must be project's active .ioc file.". Sigh.

Rename STM32F429i_DISCO_REV_E01.ioc to fu429Disco.ioc. IOC now opens.

Let's try something crazy, let's save a project into my home directory instead. No, can't do that. Windows creates accounts with a home directory of <firstName><space><lastName> and Designer can't cope with paths that contain <space> characters. AH, that's why it was stuffing my project into the root directory. Man, even CubeIDE can handle spaces in path names. Whatever, maybe the Designer team and the Cube teams don't like each other.