cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modyfying linker script and makefile

aroni525
Associate II

Hello,

I have started using Touch GFX a few days ago. It works preety nice, running the first program on the F746-Disco board is a pleasure.

But.. I can't use this system as it is delivered by TouchGFX. In general I would like to keep the logic and whole API, but I need to change the RTOS, add a lot of hardware and make it easy to use from the STM32CubeIDE level.

First problem appeared when I have started compiling Cube generated project. It works ok until I add something to the resources (images) and the .text section for the flash memory exceeds 1024kB. So basic problem is, that it doesn't split the data onto internal flash and external NOR memory.

I have started modyfying the linker script and oryginal makefile to allow the program to compile properly. I have never worked on makefiles/linker before so I am noob at this. I have started to learn about this and read your original files from TouchGFX.

I don't get this thing:

_extflash_:
	@$(st_link_executable) -c -P $(binary_output_path)/target.hex 0x90000000 -Rst -EL $(st_link_external_loader)

_intflash_:
	@$(st_link_executable) -c -P $(binary_output_path)/intflash.hex 0x08000000 -Rst

Why you download whole program file (target.hex) to the external memory instead of using only "extflash.bin" for example?

I am able now to compile whole program, split it into parts and download sources to the both momories respectively. As far as the internal memory looks ok - program starts, I can debug it for a while until it want's to get data from the external memory, than vPortExitCritical() is called. I don't know what should I write there, I have tried with all of the filest (from your example) and it still doesn't work (there is something in the memory).