cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wheel speed using hall effect sensor and STM32F446 - count 'teeth' rather than period.

AGust.1
Associate II

Hello,

I'm new to all this, first-year uni student and still learning java. I'm working on someone else's code for the uni motorsport club in c++ and the original coder has left.

Currently, we detect the wheel speed using a hall effect sensor and capturing the period when the code is run (every 50ms). This is creating very messy data.

I was wondering if there's a way to just straight up count the number of 'teeth' rather than determine the period with Input Capture?

We want to grab the number of 'teeth' from the register, then use that to determine how many times the wheel has turned (distance travelled), plus how many counts of the clock from the last time we calculated and determine the speed as distance/time.

I hope this makes sense, I'm still learning my way around the STM32s.

7 REPLIES 7

> This is creating very messy data.

Maybe you should start with finding out, why. What would be the reason for the period not being consistently measurable? If the period measurement is unreliable, why would measurement of multiple periods be any better?

Observe the exact waveform using logic analyzer, or maybe better using oscilloscope. Is the signal clean? Aren't there oscillations at the edges? Isn't there any noise induced from outside?

> I was wondering if there's a way to just straight up count the number of 'teeth' rather than determine the period with Input Capture?

If the connection is to timer's CH1 or CH2, you set the Slave-mode controller in timer to input from given channel, and then use External Clock Mode 1. Read the TIM chapter in RM, focus on TIMx_SMCR register description.