cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

To use the ADC data offset registers with ADC1 & 2 should I use Dual injected simultaneous mode?

Robmar
Senior III

Using ADC1 and ADC2 and timer3 trigger rising and falling edges to get a 96KHz event, I understand that we can't use Dual injected simultaneous mode with DMA, so we are using Independent mode, but is there a better (more efficient and robust) mode?

I searched the web and the 407 Ref manual but can find nothing to clearly explain this clearly.

Aim is to have synchronous 16-bit ADC conversion with DMA on two inputs at 96 - 384KHz (selectable by user) with time accurate sampling as this is for I and Q sampling, which are 90 degrees out of phase.

Appreciate expert guidance on this as I am new to this chip though have worked on complex MCUs for years, but its a lot to go through a 1700 page manual and from community comments many people seem uncertain about injected channels.

Project volume is around 3K units a year.

13 REPLIES 13
Robmar
Senior III

I am also concerned if I have this set-up correctly, I start the ADC-DMA transfers requesting 32 samples, and was told that timer3 trigger would cause incrementing memory DMA transfers each trigger, but without the DMA continuous bit set, this doesn't work.

Could each trigger be launching the entire 32 conversions?

This is the code:

hadc1.Instance = ADC1;
  hadc1.Init.ClockPrescaler = ADC_CLOCK_SYNC_PCLK_DIV8;
  hadc1.Init.Resolution = ADC_RESOLUTION_12B;
  hadc1.Init.ScanConvMode = DISABLE;
  hadc1.Init.ContinuousConvMode = DISABLE;
  hadc1.Init.DiscontinuousConvMode = DISABLE;
  hadc1.Init.ExternalTrigConvEdge = ADC_EXTERNALTRIGCONVEDGE_RISING;
  hadc1.Init.ExternalTrigConv = ADC_EXTERNALTRIGCONV_T3_TRGO;
  hadc1.Init.DataAlign = ADC_DATAALIGN_RIGHT;
  hadc1.Init.NbrOfConversion = 1;
  hadc1.Init.DMAContinuousRequests = ENABLE;
  hadc1.Init.EOCSelection = ADC_EOC_SEQ_CONV;	//ADC_EOC_SINGLE_CONV  ADC_EOC_SEQ_CONV;