cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32H745IIT6 - is power wired right?

MatthewsEffects
Associate III

Ok here is the situation

Did a board design, when plugged in i noticed 3.3v was not outputting correctly. Realized I put the wrong 3.3v regulator, maxes out at 100ma. Removed and put in a 3.3v regulator that goes up to 800ma which i thought would be fine for the STM32H745IIT6. Now when I plug it in i get 2v and its trying to pull over 1000ma which is where my meter maxes out. 
Obviously there could be many issues that could cause this but I want to start at the chip and just make sure I have it wired correctly for power and I didn't miss something on its power section. 

If you can give any thoughts on if any of the power pins are not supplied correctly would be super helpful as i'm very new to this specific chip. What MA should I expect with this chip? If i did anything wrong with this post just let me know! 

Thank you! 

STM32H745IIT6.png

STM32H745IIT6-bottom.pngSTM32H745IIT6-right.pngSTM32H745IIT6-left.pngSTM32H745IIT6-top.png

2 REPLIES 2
TDK
Guru

100mA is enough for the chip to boot up at its default (erased) state. Expect maybe 10 mA when erased.

You have 3 VCAP pins, two of them should have a 2.2uF to ground (not a 0.1uF). They are recommended to be tied together, although this is not strictly necessary. VCAP3 needs tied to VCAP1/2.

Can't see anything else wrong.

Are you sure part orientation is correct? Perhaps post an image of the board.

Hardware design guide for reference:

https://www.st.com/resource/en/application_note/an4938-getting-started-with-stm32h74xig-and-stm32h75xig-mcu-hardware-development-stmicroelectronics.pdf

How are DGND and GND connected? Better be shorted, otherwise that's your problem.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
Danish1
Lead II