cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32 from ground up: NVIC active bit, Processor Modes (FIQ, IRQ, ABT, USR...)

ilyus
Senior II

Context: I'm writing my first STM32 "from the ground up" project. Notepad++ and GCC in command line (Windows 10) are my IDE. I've never done this before, so I'm learning ropes, taking first look into assembly (but keeping own assembly to a minimum, C does the job), writing my first makefile, linker script etc.. I've been working on my NVIC implementation, and I had a few questions I wanted to clarify. Searching the internet gave partial results. I would want to have a full picture from someone who knows the stuff better than I do.

Windows 10, STM32F746 Discovery Board. No CMSIS, no nothing. Mainly C for now. So far, I've created my own vector table, placed .data and .bss where I wanted them to go (SRAM2, because SRAM1 is executable, and who knows if I get cute later and want to run something from SRAM for the fun of it). I successfully run main(void) after reset handler places all data where it's supposed to go.

Question 1: can multiple interrupts be Active at the same time, or is strictly one active at a time, while the other ones are pending? (considering all situations, including low-priority interrupt interrupted mid-execution by higher priority interrupt). I implemented my NVIC function with the assumption that only one interrupt can be active at a time. After that I ran into some material on the internet that may have suggested otherwise. It would be nice to have this question answered once and for all.