cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speaker audio distorted even though it is quiet

rickymcmuffin
Associate

I'm doing a project where I want to have a toy say audio clips when a button is pressed. Right now I'm trying to accomplish this with an STM32F407G-DISC1. I have a small speaker (16 ohms, 0.25 W) connected to my breadboard with the DAC OUT1 of the MCU powering it by playing audio clips. I have managed to play the audio but the issue is, the speaker is very quiet and distorted. However, when I put a 220 ohm resistor on it, it sounds much better but is even more quiet.

I just wanted to ask if there was anything I'm doing wrong. I'm new to this so bear with me. Would an amplifier help? I would assume not as the audio would just become more distorted. Any help would be appreciated!

5 REPLIES 5
AScha.3
Chief II

you have STM32F4DISCOVERY board - right ?

and put audio out with DAC OUT1 of the MCU - ?

so this needs an output amp ! see ds , minimum load is 5K , with buffer ON .

why not use the onboard audio DAC (CS43L22) ( this has some amp also) ?

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
STTwo-32
ST Employee

Hello @rickymcmuffin 

As @AScha.3 Said, you should use a Resistive load of 5K ohm minimum and a Capacitive load of maximum 50pf (with buffer ON).

Screenshot_2023-11-19-19-47-48-21_e2d5b3f32b79de1d45acd1fad96fbb0f.jpg

Screenshot_2023-11-19-19-48-38-96_e2d5b3f32b79de1d45acd1fad96fbb0f.jpg

For more details, take a look at the part 5.3.25 of the DS8626.

Best Regards.

STTwo-32.

To give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

rickymcmuffin
Associate

Thank you so much @STTwo-32 and @AScha.3 . You're really clearing things up.

> why not use the onboard audio DAC (CS43L22) ( this has some amp also) ?