cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Program won't run after upload

Qwyntex
Associate III

I have designed my own PCB and I have the problem that while the code uploads successfully, it doesn't run.Qwyntex_0-1716384046463.png

I have checked NRST and BOOT0 and both should not be the problem. I have found a similar issue where the chip didn't get a clock signal and therefor was stuck. I have used the debugger to step through the code and it went past HAL_Init but I never come past SystemClock_Config, when trying to step into it the debugger throws 'Cannot find bounds of current function'. I am new to designing PCBs and I don't really know where to go from here or what the issue could be.

It is not the debugger itself as I can run the blinking sketch with no problems on a dev board that I have bought, which is why I have attached the schematic. I can also provide the PCB layout but I think it is much more likely that I made a basic mistake than that the layout is the culprit.

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Peter BENSCH
ST Employee

You have not connected anything to VCAP1, although 4.7µF must be connected to your UFQFPN48 (see data sheet, table 16)?

Regards
/Peter

In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

View solution in original post

22 REPLIES 22
Peter BENSCH
ST Employee

You have not connected anything to VCAP1, although 4.7µF must be connected to your UFQFPN48 (see data sheet, table 16)?

Regards
/Peter

In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

I don't know how I missed that, thank you. I will try and solder it on and when it works I'll mark your answer as the solution

Qwyntex
Associate III