cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

need guidance for custom hardware design

mbed_engr
Associate II

hi st-community,
as i'm newbie embd engr.,i have limited knowledge of using to select mcu or mpu in stelectronics or any.so please suggest me for custom hardware making using stm32..as i have basic understanding of st-world..from past 5 month.

I have tested the STM32F769I-DISCO for 12-lead ECG data acquisition and printing using a thermal printer, with a GUI  TouchGFX as the basis. Now, I need to finalize the choice of chip for our multi-parameter patient monitor application.
1. is there any way for developing custom HW like using project files for discovery board to import in altium and able to customize to our need ..thats all i needed to do..
2.  I've selected the STM32MP15 (dual core -800mhz main) as my processor for better handling, especially for external RAM memory like LPDDR3. Considering future development, would starting with custom hardware based on the high-level STM32MP15 be the best option?
3.where, my previous post, i didn't get replay..where they told f7 is suitable for my application.,but i have doubt,that single core is capable for using upto 4 - continuous vital sign at a time.and not struck with handling range of 10.1 -15.1 inch display..

so,please confirm, which chip has usable without limitation,..also.,if it have more cost impact on using MPU rather than MCU??

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

ST provides "bare metal" libraries for STM32MP1 similar to what you have seen on STM32F7.

But the real value of STM32MP1 is that it can run Linux. As the proverb goes, "Linux is free but not cheap". To deal with Linux you for sure will need a software professional. Then better use Raspberry Pi.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

ST provides "bare metal" libraries for STM32MP1 similar to what you have seen on STM32F7.