cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm new at STM MCUs and trying to develop a new board based on STM32G070RBT6. I have few questions like reset, program over UART, etc.

Amad
Associate II

1) I've checked multiple schematics for blue pill, black pill, etc., and saw capacitor and resistor on reset button line. I've built a test (pinout) board and without any capacitor or resistor. I can reset it (NRST pin to ground). May this cause a hardware or software fault in the future ? I've checked datasheet and there is only shows 0.1 uF capacitor for just protection. Do I need any other component on NRST line ?

2) I'm using FTDI (also tried CH340G) for UART (via Demonstrator GUI) and unable to connect to board. Connections are correct: RX->TX, TX-RX, GND->GND, VDD->3V3. Tried all possible UART2, 3, 4 and so... Is this board can be able to program over UART or do I have a mistake ?

3) On Bluepill there are Boot0 and Boot1 but 32G070 just have Boot0. I've already figured out I can program with STLink swdio, sclk etc but do I need any resistor like bluepill on Boot0 ? Tried to put a serial resistor like that but in that case I couldn't use STLink.

Regards

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TDK
Guru

1) No, 0.1uF is all you need, unless you are worried about ESD in which case you may want additional protection. Not having a capacitor will be okay most of the time, but you can get parasitic resets if high frequency signals run close to the NRST pin/trace. On boards you care about, it should have a 0.1uF cap per the design document

https://www.st.com/resource/en/application_note/dm00443870-getting-started-with-stm32g0-series-hardware-development-stmicroelectronics.pdf 

Edit: The design document doesn't actually specify a 0.1uF cap for this chip. Perhaps this chip is different, or perhaps the document is incomplete.