cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make a Manchester communication with a NUCLEO-L432KC ?

Loic1
Associate III

Hello,

I would like to encode/send and decode/receive data using Manchester communication protocol (per G.E. Thomas) between 1 and 100 kbps with a NUCLEO-L432KC. I have read many topics with multiple solutions but I'm a beginner and I'm quite confused.

I'm looking for a simple and proper way to do it, without external chip. Maybe setting up a timer as counter with an interrupt should be a good idea? I would be pleased to get code examples.

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Transmitter is relatively easy, as you are under control of the clock - simply perform encoding and transmit using either a timer interrupt, or e.g. SPI.

Receiver is relatively hard. One way to do it is to use input capture on both edges, and perform software decoding in the ISR based on the captured values.

You may want to start with setting up the input capture, in ISR storing the data to an array, and then looking at the content of that array try to decode it by hand.

JW

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

Transmitter is relatively easy, as you are under control of the clock - simply perform encoding and transmit using either a timer interrupt, or e.g. SPI.

Receiver is relatively hard. One way to do it is to use input capture on both edges, and perform software decoding in the ISR based on the captured values.

You may want to start with setting up the input capture, in ISR storing the data to an array, and then looking at the content of that array try to decode it by hand.

JW

Loic1
Associate III

Hi @Community member​ !

Thank you for your answer! I'm looking how to do this and trying to do it by myself. It's the first time I'm programming a Nucleo in the STM32CubeIDE so I'll probably reply back for learning more.

Loic1
Associate III

Hi @Community member​ !