cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HAL_Delay stuck in Loop

GHube.1
Associate II

Hello!

First of all, im pretty new to programming STMs. I'm currently working on a project on the WL Series and stuck with the HAL_Delay function. Even something super simple like toggling my User LED won't work.

For RCC im using a TCXO 32Mhz as HSE.

while (1)
  {
    /* USER CODE END WHILE */

/* USER CODE BEGIN 3 */
	  HAL_GPIO_TogglePin(GPIOB, GPIO_PIN_3);
	  HAL_Delay(100);
  }
  /* USER CODE END 3 */
}

The LED turns on and the Code gets stuck in the Delay. I do think the interrupts are set right. 0693W000008ys3zQAA.pngAn this is my Clock Configuration:

0693W000008ys5MQAQ.png 

I'm thankful for any kind of help.

Thanks,

Gabriel

6 REPLIES 6
DavidAlfa
Senior II

Ensure Systick is enabled in System Core / SYS / Timebase source

I had a bug once where Cube IDE was missing the systick ISR code.

Open Core/Src/stm32fxxx_it.c and ensure this line is present:

void SysTick_Handler(void)
{
  /* USER CODE BEGIN SysTick_IRQn 0 */

/* USER CODE END SysTick_IRQn 0 */
  HAL_IncTick();                        // <----- THIS LINE
  /* USER CODE BEGIN SysTick_IRQn 1 */
  /* USER CODE END SysTick_IRQn 1 */
}

If it's not there, just write it. I suggest making a new project and check if the issue persists, it might be a bug.

Are you using the last CubeIDE version? I think I had this in v1.5.0 or so.

If doesn't happen again in the new project, your HAL config might be corrupted (Happened twice to me), consider copying the code into the new project.

Javier1
Principal

tell us what hardware are you working with.

maybe the xtal isnnt 32Mhz? try the same software but selecting the internal clock

0693W000008ysYtQAI.png

we dont need to firmware by ourselves, lets talk
GHube.1
Associate II

Thanks for the replies!

Both Solutions didn't work...