cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DSB instruction for implementing delay after an RCC peripheral clock enabling

dtom7
Associate

Hi,

I'm new to STM32 microcontrollers, specifically STM32G070RB which is an Arm Cortex M0+ MCU.

From section 5.2.16 (page# 134) of https://www.st.com/resource/en/reference_manual/rm0454-stm32g0x0-advanced-armbased-32bit-mcus-stmicroelectronics.pdf

Peripheral clock enable registers

Caution: The enable bit has a synchronization mechanism to create a glitch-free clock for the peripheral. 
After the enable bit is set, there is a 2-clock-cycle delay before the clock be active, which the software must take into account.

As per https://www.st.com/resource/en/errata_sheet/dm00037591-stm32f405-407xx-and-stm32f415-417xx-device-limitations-stmicroelectronics.pdf Section 2.2.13 Delay after an RCC peripheral clock enabling, 3 workarounds are mentioned.

• Use the DSB instruction to stall the Arm® Cortex®-M4 CPU pipeline until the instruction has completed.
• Insert “n” NOPs between the RCC enable bit write and the peripheral register writes (n = 2 for AHB
peripherals, n = 1 + AHB/APB prescaler for APB peripherals).
• Simply insert a dummy read operation from the corresponding register just after enabling the peripheral
clock.

I hope these workarounds are applicable for STM32G070RB also.

I'm planning to use the DSB instruction after enabling the peripheral clock.

void enable_gpioa_clock(void)
{
    RCC_IOPENR |= (0x1U << 0x0U);
    __asm volatile("DSB");
}

Are there any drawbacks in using DSB instruction here?

Thanks in advance.

@Jan Waclawek 

3 REPLIES 3
STOne-32
ST Employee

Dear @dtom7 ,

Welcome in STCommunity . 

indeed in STM32G0 this is specified in our specification and require 2 AHB clock cycle before it will be taken into account .

IMG_8862.jpeg