cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Determine GPIO State: PWM or High or Low - changing state

Scott Miller
Associate II

Hi, forgive the newby question, but I'm a newby to STM and micros in general. I'm a hardware engineer and have not really ventured too far into the code world until now.

I need to monitor 4 GPIOs. They could be any of 3 states: PWM (~50% duty, 1 second on and 1s off) or High or Low. The pins will be changing state, (i.e. moving from PWM to on, to off) periodically. I need to monitor the state of all 4, and determine the "mode" that the device I'm monitoring is operating in. After I determine the pin mode, my thought was to assign a variable to each pin mode, and determine the overall mode based on the pin modes.

I'm struggling with how to detect the PWM, and how to detect the pin mode change. I know this is dead easy for a lot of you on here.

My first thought was to set up a "pin_state" variable (0=low DC, 1 = high DC, 2 = PWM), "last_state" variable (0=low DC, 1 = high DC), and a "count" variable for each GPIO. Then set a timer interrupt every 100ms to read each pin. DC is easy. Check the pin polarity. If the input is high, and last_state=high, and pin_state=high, and counter is >10, keep pin_state=high. If the next read of that pin is low, and last_state=high, and pin mode = high, reset counter, set pin_state to low (and set last_state = low). This is not hard to envision the rest of that logic, so I won't continue.