cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Countermeasure of hardware noise for software interrupt GPIO-EXTI line

Sen10
Associate

I'm a beginner at STM processor, and I'm trying programming software interrupt using GPIO port as EXTI line at STM32L4R5QI(STM32L4+ series) processor.

Then, I was wondering when I was reading the reference manual of STM32L4+ series.  It seems that the EXTI interrupt is OR condition between the hardware interrupt signal and software interrupt signal as below:

image.png

In addition, for using EXTI line, I configured the GPIO port as EXTI and configured GPIO mode at STM32CubeMX as below:
image.png

In other words, I concern that the software interrupt might be occurred by unintentional hardware signal(ex. noise) at configured GPIO-EXTI pin.

Therefore, I want to take a countermeasure to my concern.  In detail, I think I have to become disable the "Falling trigger selection register"(EXTI_FTSR) and the "Rising trigger selection register"(EXTI_RTSR) manually, but I don't know my idea is correct because there is no configuration at STM32CubeMX.  ("manually" means setting those register "disable" in my program code.)

Is my idea correct?  Or, is there any another idea?

I would appreciate if you could give me some advice.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Uwe Bonnes
Principal III

Set up the right way, EXTI is quite robust. If your EXTI signal is noise, try to clean up. If your program runs amok, fix it. If you need features you do not find in HAL, talk direct to the hardware. Reading and understanding the reference manual is always a good idea.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Uwe Bonnes
Principal III

Set up the right way, EXTI is quite robust. If your EXTI signal is noise, try to clean up. If your program runs amok, fix it. If you need features you do not find in HAL, talk direct to the hardware. Reading and understanding the reference manual is always a good idea.

Pavel A.
Evangelist III