cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cortex-M0 Thumb alignment

francesco_gritti
Associate II

Hi everybody,

I am using STM32F042G6 MCU for an automotive project and since It doesn't have mush FLASH (32kB) I am trying to reduce code size as much as possible.

Lookign at the linker file generated by STM32CubeMX, I see that instructions are aligned to 4 bytes. Since M0 architecture uses Thumb instruction set which is 16 bit wide, I was wondering wether instructions can be aligned to 2 bytes, saving some flash. Since I am not very experienced in this area of MCU I would like to know from you if this is correct or if I am missing something. I will link part of the linker script. I definitely understand why isr_vector is aligned to 4 bytes but I quite don't why .text is.

Thank you in advence!

SECTIONS

{

/* The startup code into "FLASH" Rom type memory */

.isr_vector :

{

. = ALIGN(4);

KEEP(*(.isr_vector)) /* Startup code */

. = ALIGN(4);

} >FLASH

/* The program code and other data into "FLASH" Rom type memory */

.text :

{

. = ALIGN(4);

*(.text) /* .text sections (code) */

*(.text*) /* .text* sections (code) */

*(.glue_7) /* glue arm to thumb code */

*(.glue_7t) /* glue thumb to arm code */

*(.eh_frame)

KEEP (*(.init))

KEEP (*(.fini))

. = ALIGN(4);

_etext = .; /* define a global symbols at end of code */

} >FLASH

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Because of the literal pools interleaved with the code.

The immediate load instructions can handle many patterns, but some 32-bit values need to be loaded via near PC relative loads.

Shrinking the alignment is not going to save significant amount of space. An CM0 faults with misaligned loads/stores

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Because of the literal pools interleaved with the code.