cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can the bootloader and application code be in the same CubeIDE project?

OguzhanBalci
Associate III

I have a bootloader project that can jump to a QSPI application under normal conditions. When I first install this application and then install my application that I created separately for QSPI, it works without any problem.(Bootloader + App).
But what I want to do is to combine bootloader and application projects. I tried to add the App code into the Bootloader application with a method like below, but even if the compilation result was successful, the debugger gave an error and I could not load the application to flash.

Ekran görüntüsü 2024-05-18 200425.png

My App Code
Ekran görüntüsü 2024-05-18 200442.png

Jump Code
Ekran görüntüsü 2024-05-18 200604.png

I've never tried anything like this before. Maybe I'm being ridiculous, sorry.

12 REPLIES 12
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

Yes, bootloader and application code can be in the same CubeIDE project.

But why one can want it? No idea. People want so many different things, some more reasonable, some less.

Radosław
Senior II

If this wil be true bootloader, then this will not work correccly.

OguzhanBalci
Associate III

I think the problem is that I use qspi and flash together. The two work fine separately but I can't use them in the same project. This may be a problem with stm32h750vbt6 rev V (old ?) or maybe it is related to the external external loader I am using (works smoothly on cube programmer and as App (without FLASH section))?

Why

Well calling main() in an entirely different application won't correctly initialize the statics, ie your variables, either with content, or zeros.

The idea is that the Boot Loader and Applications are two separate entities, and can reuse RAM independently.