cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN FD Error on STM32H7AZIT&QU - Principiant

AleL_3
Associate II

Hello everyone, I'm an HW engineer and I'm quite new in the communication betweer mcu.

I'm now facing a communication error related to FDCAN.

My colleagues and I have made a system that needs to communicate with the outside world via FD CAN, working on a prototype with H7A3ZIQ Nucleo and STM32H7A3ZIQ micro with dual CAN (1 and 2) of which we use only the FDCAN1.

On demo board everything works properly. We interface the demo board CAN RX and TX with the SN65HVD230DR transceiver and we connect the CANH and CANL and GND to the tool Microchip CAN analyzer which reads the data correctly and manages to establish communication (as can be seen from attached presentation).

We replicated the necessary circuits on our own PCB, copying the demo board subsystems (SPI, CAN, a timer, direct programming via STLink and SN65HVD230DR) .

The only variation is the absence of power supply from SMPS, but we use the linear internal to the micro.

In addition, the external HSE oscillator is missing as on demo board, while we use the external 32kHz oscillator (as the demo board).

Having said that, the problem is that once everything is connected, the CAN analyzer goes into error passive and does not send low ACK. 

I have rechecked the board and connections several times, but everything seems ok (logic levels, signals, delays, noise, 120Ohm terminations on both nodes)..

I attach a presentation with waveforms and message decoding in both cases.

Thank you very much for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AleL_3
Associate II

Hello everyone, thanks a lot for the suggestions.