cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to transfer strings to STM32 with USART ?

AlexandrosAA
Associate III

Hello guys. I'm fairly new to stm and i've mostly worked on a pico.
The thing is that i want to create a programm with the following function.

The user sends a character and then a string from a python app on my pc. The first character is a pseudo handshake, meaning that if the received character is lets say 'A', the stm should store the string on a buffer array and print it. 

I've implemented this program by using the get_char function on the pico. Can i implement this on an stm by using something similar or do i have to use multiple instances of the HAL_UART_RECEIVE_IT  function , since i also want the super loop to also implement an adc reading, and the  HAL_UART_RECEIVE is blocking ?

9 REPLIES 9
AScha.3
Chief II

Hi,

I'm fairly new to stm and i've mostly worked on a pico.

No basic difference there, some have even same core (M0+  afair).

> or do i have to use multiple instances of the HAL_UART_RECEIVE_IT  function

Not multiple - just one.

>and the  HAL_UART_RECEIVE is blocking ?

Right. So use the interrupt version...blocking is a bad idea, when the cpu should do anything else. 🙂

I do it this way :

set in Cube the uart (port, speed etc.) and enable INT and callback for it.

(generate code..)

Then in program just start it :

HAL_UART_RegisterCallback(&huart7, HAL_UART_RX_COMPLETE_CB_ID, HAL_UART_RxCpltCallback);
  HAL_UART_RegisterCallback(&huart7, HAL_UART_ERROR_CB_ID, HAL_UART_ErrorCallback);
// prepare ...error might happen..

fresult = HAL_UART_Init(&huart7);

HAL_UART_Receive_IT(&huart7, ESP_RX, 1);   // set receive 1 char -> to buf , 120 char. max

and do with the received char (analyze...whatever) in callback function :

void HAL_UART_RxCpltCallback(UART_HandleTypeDef *huart)
{
	ESP_RX_COUNT ++;
	if(ESP_RX_COUNT>180) ESP_RX_COUNT=0 ;	// limit overflow !