cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with HAL_UART_Receive_IT after enabling LWIP and FreeRTOS

MFäh.1
Associate II

Hi

after enabling LWIP/FreeRTOS in the .ioc file, my HAL_UART_Receive_IT no longer works (worked fine before). I'm new to STM programming and have no idea what to do... Sorry if this is a plain stupid question.

Cheers

9 REPLIES 9
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

What does your UART interrupt handler do? does it call FreeRTOS API?

MFäh.1
Associate II

No, at the moment it just transmit the received data back (for testing).

HAL_UART_Receive_IT(&huart2, rx_data, 10);

void HAL_UART_RxCpltCallback(UART_HandleTypeDef *huart)

{

HAL_UART_Receive_IT(&huart2, rx_data, 10);

HAL_UART_Transmit_IT(&huart2, rx_data, 10);

}

at the end i would like to send the received UART data as UDP packages

Bob S
Principal

Define "no longer works"

Your RX complete callback is starting a new receive into the same buffer that is it also starting a transmit. If you happen to receive more data while the TX is active it will overwrite/corrupt the outgoing data. But that doesn't have anything directly to do with FreeRTOS.

No longer means, it works fine i see all the sent data in the output terminal. So indeed this works... But as soon as i activate lwip/freertos (without changing this part), it stop​s working... Don't know why

Bob S
Principal

One more time - define "stops working"? You still haven't done that. Do you stop receiving data? Stop sending data? Send the wrong data? Hard fault? Reboot? Dance a jig? What???????

And what have you done to debug this, other than stare at it and say "it doesn't work"? Do you ever get into the RX callback? Do any of the HAL functions return an error (do you even check the return values)? Does the RX interrupt actually get enabled? Check the actual UART registers.

MFäh.1
Associate II

Dance a Jig ;-)... sorry for being imprecise, as i said i'm just starting with programming STMs: