cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot ping using LWIP+FreeRTOS on Nucleo-F746ZG

ZBru
Associate II

Hi everyone, I'm new in this field. I was trying to integrate FreeRTOS with my TCP Server. While without FreeRTOS everything works fine, with FreeRTOS I cannot even make a simple ping. I'm looking everywhere for a solution but there aren't solutions that seem to work.

The steps that I follow are:

1. Opening STM32CubeIDE 1.10.1
  2. Selecting my board
  3. Configuring the ETH as RMII and the relative's pins (in particular the pins PG11 and PG13)
  4. I enable LWIP and configure: the Driver_PHY as LAN8742, the DHCP as static (with relative addresses assignments) and the MEM_SIZE as 10*1024.
  5. I enable FreeRTOS and I set it to enable the USE_NEWLIB_REENTRANT.
  6. Finally, I set TIM6 as the Timebase source and I generate the project.

No warnings or errors are shown. In the main, I can see in the DefaultTask the MX_LWIP_Init(). Then I program the board and I try to ping it without success.

Can anyone help me to find out the problem?

3 REPLIES 3
ZBru
Associate II

Edit: I solved selecting CMSIS_v1 (instead of CMSIS_v2) and by increasing the stack size of the default task from 128 to 256.

Now I avoid hard faults and I can ping.

Everything is nice and good but using CMSIS_v1 is a huge constraint since there are a lot of libraries that make use of CMSIS_v2. Thus, roughly speaking I can say that the problem persists. So, anyone who is aware of a method to make stm32f7xx with LwIP stack + FreeRTOS (CMSIS_v2) work of have some suggestions is very welcome.

ZBru
Associate II

First of all, thank you @Piranha​. I saw you put a lot of effort into the ethernet issue.