cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bxCAN HAL HAL_CAN_RxFifo0MsgPendingCallback behavior - callback being called repeatedly

Brian Rau
Associate III

Using STM32L452 and HAL version 1.17.2 with FreeRTOS. I'm new to CAN, and am trying to set up a simple one-to-one communication scheme without filters (only two devices on this CANbus talking to each other). I've implemented the RX FIFO message pending callback such that it simply sends a FreeRTOS notifier:

void HAL_CAN_RxFifo0MsgPendingCallback(CAN_HandleTypeDef *hcan)

{

BaseType_t xHigherPriorityTaskWoken = pdFALSE;

if (xTaskGetSchedulerState() != taskSCHEDULER_NOT_STARTED) // Be sure CAN RX task is running before we try to wake it

{

HAL_CAN_DeactivateNotification(&hcan1, CAN_IT_RX_FIFO0_MSG_PENDING); //BDRTEMP Disable this interrupt until the RX task services

vTaskNotifyGiveFromISR(CANRxTaskHandle, &xHigherPriorityTaskWoken); // Wake the CAN RX task

portYIELD_FROM_ISR(xHigherPriorityTaskWoken);

}

}

The notifier wakes up a FreeRTOS task that reads the CANbus message and processes it:

void StartCANRxTask(void const * argument)

{

/* USER CODE BEGIN StartCanRxTask */

BaseType_t status;

/* Infinite loop */

for(;;)

{

// Wait for data ready semaphore

ulTaskNotifyTake(pdTRUE, portMAX_DELAY);

// CAN data received, process it

if (HAL_CAN_GetRxMessage(&hcan1, CAN_RX_FIFO0, &RxHeader, RxData) == HAL_OK)

{

CANProcessRxData(&RxHeader, &RxData[0]);

}

HAL_CAN_ActivateNotification(&hcan1, CAN_IT_RX_FIFO0_MSG_PENDING); //BDRTEMP Re-enable interrupt

/* USER CODE END StartCANRxTask */

}