cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are there any example projets that actually work on STM32f769i-Disco which could be used to make my SD_card project work?

MPoul.1
Associate II

Hi there, I'm a French engineering student, and we were given a project by a company. For this work, we were told to work with stm32, and we choose to work with STM32f769i-Disco, because it had a lot of features we needed. Our project is based on TouchGFX. We need to be able to read and write data on an micro SD card, so I tried to configure the project as shown in the few (very few) tutorials i could find, but no matter what I can't make it work.

I'm a complete beginner to the STM32 world, and i had only that week to discover the stm32Cube IDE, so i'm still a bit lost in what i have to do...

I tried a lot of things, as shown here:

https://microtechnics.ru/en/stm32cube-microcontroller-stm32-and-fatfs/

or here:

https://ngolongtech.net/stm32f7-disco-write-data-to-sd-card-with-fatfs/

and i even found i had to use DMA streams here :

https://community.st.com/s/question/0D50X00009XkWceSAF/stm32f411re-stm32cube-fatfs-sdio-sdcard-always-returns-frdiskerr

But no matter what i couldn't make it to work.

I also tried to work with the example project in the STM32CubeF7-master git repo, but it doesn't even work. I guess the stm32f769-eval and disco don't have the same connexions...

No matter what, the uSD won't be mounted (but retSD = FATFS_LinkDriver(&SD_Driver, SDPath); seems to work find, with or without the SD card plugged... Is that even normal?)

Do you have any advice?

Thanks a lot!

Matthieu

3 REPLIES 3

STM32Cube_FW_F7_V1.16.0\Projects\STM32F769I-Discovery\Applications\Display\LCD_PicturesFromSDCard

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
MPoul.1
Associate II

Thank you for your fast answer, that project is indeed working!