cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am new to STMicro products. How do I connect an STM32l010F4 to an ST-link programmer? Is there a document that explicitly states which STM32l010F4 pin connects to which ST-link pin?

LGoye.1
Associate II

I do not have room on my board for a large connector, so I need to create a custom cable. The STM32l010F4 boots via USART, yet I cannot find anything in the ST-link docs that says "connect this pin to usart Tx, and this one to the usart rx, etc.

If someone could point me to a dcoument, I would appreciate it.

14 REPLIES 14

Cortex-M0(+) parts generally a header perhaps exports SWDIO, SWCLK, NRST and GND.

The pods with buffering chips would also want to see VTarget (VCC) to match the levels used in your system.

The 10-pin SWD connectors aren't massive, there's also Tag-Connect type foot prints, or you could put debug/tag connectors on break off stalks or edge castellations, etc.

The ST-LINK/V2 doesn't have a USART

The ST-LINK/V3 does, and has a diagram in the manual

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

For UART programming, check App Note AN2606

Typically want to export RX, TX, NRST, BOOT(0), GND

LGoye.1
Associate II

Hi Tesla,

I looked at the various st-link V3 data sheets, and I still don't see a table that explicitly states "usart Tx ties to this pin".

It may be a terminology problem. These devices only program via the USART.

Which manual were you referring to that has a wiring diagram?

Thanks for your help.

Hi Tesla,

Ok, I messed up and entered this as an answer rather than hit reply. Sorry about that.

I looked at the various st-link V3 data sheets, and I still don't see a table that explicitly states "usart Tx ties to this pin".

It may be a terminology problem. These devices only program via the USART.

Which manual were you referring to that has a wiring diagram?

Thanks for your help.

S.Ma
Principal