cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can i connect electret microphone and receive information with nucleo-h743zi

rubenles
Associate III

Hi,

I am not a pro user of using stm32 microcontrollers and i need to know if it is possible to connect an electret microphone with a stm32 nucleo h743zi board and see any information i receive with this component.

For example, i want to connect the condenser mic with nucleo board and see in my screen any data, or something to prove that i am connecting this correctly or know how to treat with these type of components.

rubenles_0-1701092622400.png

This photo shows the type of condenser microphone i am using.

Sorry if i am not explaining it so well because i don't know if it is possible to do things like i am asking here.

Thank you so much for your time.

8 REPLIES 8
LCE
Principal

Yes, you can do that.

BUT...

1) Audio signal quality will be much worse than nowadays audio standard, due to the STM's 12-bit SAR ADC (or 16-bit?).

2) it's a loooong and hard way from having the components to actually getting any usable data to your PC.
Depending on your knowledge / skill level, this can take from 2 weeks (HW & STM pro with USB knowledge) up to several months.

3) Something many people forget: you need some software on the PC side as well.

rubenles
Associate III

Thanks for answering,

> 1) Audio signal quality will be much worse than nowadays audio standard, due to the STM's 12-bit SAR ADC (or 16-bit?).

That's not a problem because in a future i will use other PCM4220PFBG4 (Audio converter) to fix quality. But first i want to know how to do simple things...

> 2) it's a loooong and hard way from having the components to actually getting any usable data to your PC.
Depending on your knowledge / skill level, this can take from 2 weeks (HW & STM pro with USB knowledge) up to several months.