cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Evaluation boards (Discovery or Nucelo) with virtual com port for debugging

JFisc.2
Associate

Greetings,

I'm new to STM32 MCUs and bought an evaluation board (STM32F072B-DISCO).

I get along surprisingly well, but there is one thing that bothers me:

This combination of MCU (Cortex M0) and ST-Link/V2 seems to lack a virtual COM port for debugging.

I would like to print debug messages to console to inspect complex program flow and read input from console to test program jumps, data processsing and more.

At the moment I connected an USART to my PC with a USB serial interface, but I assumed that the debugger can do this via USB. There seems to be a complex communication protocol for debugging already (live expressions for example) and I wonder why exchanging text messages is impossible.

So I have 2 questions...

Does this board (STM32F072B-DISCO) certainly not offer a solution to print debug messages to a console and read keyboard input without hardware hacks?

Do other boards (Discovery or Nucelo) with ST-LINK/V2-1 or higher and Cortex M3 or higher certainly offer what I'm missing?

Thank you very much and best regards

Jim

Edit: I work with Debian 11 and STM32CubeIDE.

4 REPLIES 4

The​ boards implementing the ST-LINK/V2-1 use a more complex STM32F103 part. Subsequent boards had the newer chip and design.

C​heck the schematic for USART connectivity. The CM0(+) parts don't support the SWV debug communication channel either. Keil used an memory based EVT event and trace reporting method. The memory access is already in debuggers.

A​ll the NUCLEO boards should support the VCP modes. All of the boards supporting mbed did.

Perhaps there is a CMSIS-DAP firmware​

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
RetroInTheShade
Associate III