cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ambiguous LQFP100 Pin 1 Markings?

JOlso.12
Associate III

I have just wasted three solid days of very intense bench work trying to understand why my STLINK programmer will not communicate with my newly-created 32F419 target board. As a result I am now an unintended expert on SWD programming.

The reason my target board won't work is that the 32F413 is installed 180 degrees from the correct placement. I assumed that the dot inside the dimple is the pin #1 identification mark.

Wrong. Pin #1 is identified by the dot without an underlying dimple.

STMicro needs to correct the Pin #1 marking ambiguity in the mechanical drawing in the datasheet for the LQFP100 package.

9 REPLIES 9

Part orientation was specifically called out. https://community.st.com/s/question/0D53W000011wZJhSAM/what-to-do-when-swd-port-is-nonresponsive-to-stlink

Pretty sure VCAP voltages (1.25V) won't be visible when rotated.

https://community.st.com/s/question/0D50X00009Xka68SAB/stm32f401-64pin-pin1-marking-orientation

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

I understand your frustration.

This is ejector mark (ejector is a moving pin which ejects the part from the mold into which the plastic was injected), and it can be confused for the pin1 marker.

Placement, size, appearance, number, etc. of these marks is dependent on the particular site where the given part was packaged, ST uses several such sites so that may change.

The placement of pin 1 relative to other markings is indicated in the datasheet:

0693W00000Dq86rQAB.png 

JW

JOlso.12
Associate III

0693W00000Dq8AeQAJ.jpgThanks, guys. I was looking at the mechanical data on the prior datasheet page.

0693W00000Dq8B3QAJ.jpg 

You are correct, Tesla. Thanks for the feedback.

Jim Olson

Indianapolis, IN US

This has been a long standing cause of issues, without doubt.