cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Javacard with ST33 SE, ST25 NFC Chip and ePaper Display (SPI) powered by NFC Energy Harvesting

praveenbm5
Associate II

Hi

I am a complete beginner when it comes to Smart Cards/Javacards, Secure MCUs and NFC.

We specialize in Bitcoin/Crypto Custody and are exploring Smart Card (Javacard) based secure storage of end-user private-keys.

We want to design and manufacture a Javacard based Smartcard with ePaper display that shows details about the operation being performed on the Smartcard. And we want this smartcard to be a passive device without any battery just like normal smartcard. So the ePaper display has to be powered by the energy harvested from NFC.

After initial exploration, we found that we need to use ST33 Secure MCU connected to a ePaper display through SPI along with ST25DV-I2C NFC chip to enable the NFC interaction with Smartphones and harvest RF energy to power the MCU and display.

We want to do the exact same thing as described in Application Note - AN5233 with a ST33 Secure MCU instead of STM32 MCU. 

praveenbm5_0-1718972381702.png

This is as far as we could get and do not know how to proceed further. Any help in this regard will be much appreciated. 

Thank you.

6 REPLIES 6
Rene Lenerve
ST Employee

Hi praveenbm5,

I cannot answer for the ST33 Secure MCU and you should contact the local sales for that product to get more information as this is not a public product.

Regarding the ePaper, the power required when updating the screen can be provided by the Energy Harvesting of the ST25DV, but in the example you are referring to, the use of a tank capacitor was necessary to provide the current peak required when fully updating the screen (peak which is brief but with a high current). Look at the characteristics of your ePaper to be sure that the Energy Harvesting will be sufficient to provide enough current for all modes.