cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The CAN TX cannot recognize if it sends the frame correctly or not (Please read the description of the problem)

ZMoha.1
Associate II

I am doing my thesis on Bernina SPC58NN84x and I am trying to implement a CAN bus between the two CAN Subsystems, so that one of them is receiving and the other is sending, but when I do this the CAN TX doesn't recognize the success of the sending and always returns that the value of TXBTO register = 0 (the register responsible for indicating the success of sending)

I have two questions in my case:

1- how does the transmitter know that he has sent a message successfully? is it hardware or software or something else combined between them?

2- does CAN TX knows automatically if the message is sent correctly or should I make some code (e.g if condition) that makes it realize that the message is sent correctly?

Note1: the Register TXBTO is a Read-only register and I didn't find any register that can tell CAN that its message is successfully sent.

Note2: I am using a logic analyzer and the messages (at least part of them) are successfully received, however, the CAN TX still doesn't recognize this.

1 REPLY 1
DCARR
Associate III

Hi,

the transmitter understand that he has sent a frame with success when the transmitted message receive the acknoledge from other nodes in the network.

below a brief description of what happen:

1 - The message sender sends his message having the ack message field at recessive value (1)

2 - All the nodes connected to the same network reads the message while it is transmitted and evaluate his goodness.

3 - If the message is good (it is a valid can frame) then these nodes overwrite the ack field of the message with dominant value (0).