cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I convert a Nucleo-F401RE example for use on a STM32WB55 Board?

TSeke.1
Associate

Can anyone offer any guidance on the best way to port an existing application from one stm32 nucleo to a different stm32 nucleo? Specifically I would like to use the People Counting example written for the Nucleo-F401RE and X-Nucleo-53L1A1 ToF sensor expansion board on the P-Nucleo WB55. My understanding is because both run applications on the M4 chip I should be able to operate the application on both boards. I found a 6 year old youtube video ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YU4jivUZJm8 ) that is somewhat helpful but I think that I have some knowledge gaps.

One particular point of concern is the interrupt files. I'm not sure if I should try reworking the file used in the original code, grabbing one from a working example for the WB55, or generating a whole new interrupt file using STM32CubeMX

Any suggestions or resources you can provide on the topic are extremely helpful. Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
Imen.D
ST Employee

Hello @TSeke.1​ and welcome to the STM32 Community 😊

There is no migration doc from STM32F4 to STM32WB series.

You may start with STM32CubeWB MCU package, and you will find ready application projects (ioc file) generated with STM32CubeMX in the project folder of the

STM32CubeWB MCU package.

So, you can use STM32CubeMX tool and update the working application to configure peripherals that you want depending on your needs.

Take a look to this user Manual UM1718 for more detail about STM32CubeMX tool.

The reference-Manual and datasheet related to your device will be your support for more clarification and help you to configure the pins.

I highly recommend to start with "Getting started" manuals which allow you to go step by step to start your project:

• UM2550 User manual Getting started with STM32CubeWB for STM32WB Series

Hope this helps you!