cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are there any assembler example programs to get familiar with the 8S105 series?

CustomSarge
Associate III

I have the 8S105C based Discovery. I'm new to STM, but been writing NXP 9S08 assembler >20 yrs. Customer has 2 products using 9S08PA4, but needs them ported to STM8S. Both are pure assembler - I wrote them and now must port. Best of worlds would illustrate ADC, Timer and PWM aspects, but I'd be happy with just some simple GPIO and the framework to assemble, download and debug. I've looked and see all kinds of C, but only an ST7 asm example - enough different to not seem practical. Thanks in advance, Kevin (66yo newby)

7 REPLIES 7
CustomSarge
Associate III

Ok, Fine, I'll figure it out myself.

Not many STM8 users here, and even less that fiddle with assembler.

However, you could go the indirect route.

Take a C example, compile it, and look at the generated assembler code.

You might need to tweak the compiler settings to generate asm files at all.

MQi.1
Senior II

I'm also training for STM8 Assembly Language coding. Hope to see your advancement.

CustomSarge
Associate III

Thanks for the replies, I was getting discouraged. Ozone is right in a dearth of assembler pilots. But where would OOP and 4GL flyers be without us shrubs writing device drivers and atomic little service routines where speed and size are paramount? When I started out 4MHz and 64k RAM was a big machine, so assembler was a good idea for fairly simple stuff. A steady stream of projects from colleagues and customers and it's 40 years later.

I'm just at LED blinking, ADC reading and learning the timers. But that's enough to port one project as a start. Structural stuff still confuses me; segments, including address equate files, etc. Single segment linear code may be crude, but enough for now.

Thanks, MQi.1 for the links. I'll answer stuff if I think I'm helping. Good Hunting, <<<)))

Cristian Gyorgy
Senior III

Hi CustomSarge!