cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linking binary files for use in C++ application - how?

NRoes.1
Associate II

Hi there,

I am new to the STM32 microcontrollers and the STM32 Cube IDE, and I'm tasked with including a binary set of data in a program. Most of the code is generated with the CubeMX program to help me with initialization. Please be advised, that I can't post the code in the forum.

Traditionally I would do so by linking it into the binary file during build. However, in the STM32 Cube IDE I can't find any way or option to do so, so I've resorted to incude it as a C-style array of values.

As this set of binary data can change, or may be exchanged completely a number of times during development, this is a hassle, and would be avoidable by just including/linking the binary dataset from a file, then using the symbol names.

Is there a way to do this in the IDE, which I just haven't found yet?

Best regards,

Nils

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
KnarfB
Principal III

STM32CubeIDE uses the GNU gcc-arm toolchain.

An approach using objcopy is discussed here:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/17265950/linking-arbitrary-data-using-gcc-arm-toolchain

Its not directly "in" the IDE, you might need to write a pre-build script, edit linker flags etc...

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
KnarfB
Principal III

STM32CubeIDE uses the GNU gcc-arm toolchain.

An approach using objcopy is discussed here:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/17265950/linking-arbitrary-data-using-gcc-arm-toolchain

Its not directly "in" the IDE, you might need to write a pre-build script, edit linker flags etc...

Thank you for the quick reply.

I will try to incorporate it into my build process. I'm new to this IDE, so might still need some assistance there, on how to do this. The makefile is generated automatically, and overwritten on build.

NRoes.1
Associate II