cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem configuring DMA on STM32F130rb trying to read a temp sensor

nowave7
Associate II

Hi all,

I'm trying to write a small program that will read the values from the temperature/humidity sensor. I will try to explain in detail what I have at the moment, but bear with me, I'm still a beginner in bare metal development.

I am using an STM32F103RB board, DHT22 temp/hum sensor, and FreeRTOS as middleware. The environment is STM32CubeIDE (eclipse based, arm gcc compiler, st-flash) with HAL driver and CMSIS BSP.

I have configured the TIM3_CH1/Trig on channel 6 and on pin PA6. Since the sensor is using a singel wire protocol, I am switching the mode of the GPIO from output to input and back in order to get the data in. The problem occurs when I call the HAL_TIM_IC_Start_DMA function. In it, the correct channel will be chosen, and the corresponding callbacks should be set. And that is exactly where I get the a hard fault interrupt. in particular at this specific line:

htim->hdma[TIM_DMA_ID_CC3]->XferHalfCpltCallback = TIM_DMACaptureHalfCplt;

in file stm32f1xx_hal_tim.c, line 2106.

I've added the handler in the HardFault_Handler, that gets the status of the registers, but, as a novice, that doesn't mean that much to me.

So, at the moment, I am stuck at this point.

I have included the entire project as an attachment, hopefully, it is not too much to ask, someone could have a look at it.

Thank you all in advance!

Vladimir

3 REPLIES 3

> I get the a hard fault interrupt. in particular at this specific line:

> htim->hdma[TIM_DMA_ID_CC3]->XferHalfCpltCallback = TIM_DMACaptureHalfCplt;

Single-step in disasm. Does the hardfault happen at the same instruction? Which one, and what's in its vicinity (best in mixed C/asm view)?

> I've added the handler in the HardFault_Handler, that gets the status of the registers, but, as a novice, that doesn't mean that much to me.