cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

possibly more efficient USART comm?

jonphenry
Associate II
Posted on June 05, 2013 at 23:25

I've been working on a project with an stm32f4 and the .NETMF framework. I hit a wall with the garbage collector in .NET hampering my timing abilities and so have erased the chip and gone native. My background is in C# (where memory usage isnt a big issue) and am diving back into C.

Im reading my devices (I2C) fine and am now working on sending the readings out over USART. im using snprintf at the moment, but after some research have found that the function is quite a memory hog. I was taking my values (floats), converting them to chars and building a string with them. IE $TEL,-44,74,41,\r\n --> About 10-12 more values, but you get the picture. I was using 8 for the size of the snprintf() function (signed number up to 9..-***.xx\0 plus the null terminator). So, I was converting a float into 8 bytes or chars in C while losing some resolution in limiting to two decimal places.

While contemplating how to do it better, this hit me. In converting a number to a string or char[] in C, all were doing is taking its actual number value and converting each number to an ascii byte. The USART is still pushing out and taking in 8 or 9 bits at a time for use. Whats to stop us from doing this?

float gyro; /* Create float of 4 bytes named gyro */
char *pGyro; /* Create pointer pGyro */
pGyro = gyro; /* Copy address of gyro into pGyro */
int main(void)
{
USART_SendData(USART6, *pGyro++); /* Send 1st byte or 'char' of float gyro to USART */
USART_SendData(USART6, *pGyro++); /* Send 2nd byte or 'char' of float gyro to USART */
USART_SendData(USART6, *pGyro++); /* Send 3rd byte or 'char' of float gyro to USART */
USART_SendData(USART6, *pGyro); /* Send 4th byte or 'char' of float gyro to USART */
}