cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM8L Assembler in ST-Visual Develop IDE

JHerm.2
Associate II

Dear Forum Members,

I am new in STM8 and I would like to familiar with this MCU series and use it.

For starting, I would like to programming in assember. When I make a new project the IDE SW automatically generates

a basic code, but I do not understand what is this for. Anyway, I do not understand its sxntax, directives etc.

Could someone give me a documentation about assembler syntax?

And I would like to ask reffering to the Flash prgramming how the Bootloader, ISP, IAP programming exactly work, for example which MCU pins used and the required HW tool adapters. For example whether the Bootloader use the normal UART TX/RX pins or other pinis and in this case serial comm onyl emulated by the Boot SW in the ROM.

Thanks in advance,

József

4 REPLIES 4
Xavi92
Associate II

Hi József,

There is a fork of the GNU binutils package for STM8 that allows you to generate ELF files from assembly (combine it with SDCC for C support) that can be later flashed by OpenOCD:

https://github.com/XaviDCR92/stm8-binutils-gdb

Fork of SDCC that allows generating GNU as-compatible files with support for '--function-sections' and '--data-sections', so unused code can be later eliminated by the linker (GNU ld):

https://github.com/XaviDCR92/sdcc-gas

Minimal example using SDCC to generate assembly code from C code to be later compiled and linked by stm8-binutils-gdb:

https://github.com/XaviDCR92/stm8-dce-example

Edit: the example is for STM8S, but it should be easy to adapt it to STM8L.

JHerm.2
Associate II

Hi Xavier,

I have ordered an ST-Link/V2 tool and some 08L050J tiny SO-8 device. I would like to use IAR Assembler at starting (it is perfect to learn device by written smaller codes).