cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why different behavior with same hex file on stm32g474vet6?

MRibb.1
Associate

I'm new to stm32 programming, but have experience with other complex low level drivers. I'm looking for ideas because I'm confused by this issue.

I hired a contractor to write code to view a few sensors, monitor a few rotary encoders, and use a 320x240 1 bit lcd using SPI (he used the lvgl library for this) since I'm not familiar with stm32.

This seem to work pretty well on his system. However, when I load his hex file (or build it myself) it runs around 100x slower, and has a few other minor issues that don't seem related to performance, but maybe they are? It mostly works, like the encoders are working, sensors are giving reasonable values, but one encoder doesn't work and the fps of the screen is about 0.3 instead of 30. I've seen a video of his device and it works well.

We both have multiple programmers (I'm mostly using the official st link v3), and both have multiple copies of the pcb with the stm32 chip.

I did use HAL_RCC_GetSysClockFreq to check the frequency and it reports the correct 160 Mhz. I also checked the timing of the main program loop and it was going through that code quickly. The main thing that runs outside that loop is the display via lvgl. I did try turning off the display completely and that made my encoders fast. Maybe this points towards a misconfigured SPI port or something (perhaps due to undefined registers), but checking all that will take me awhile since I'm new to stm32.

Is there something I could setup incorrectly on my computer to make it slow? It seems like this is pretty minimal since I see the problems even when using his hex file that works for him.

Are there some registers I should check on the hardware? I would hope if we both clear the chip and then program it using the same hex file that we'd get the same behavior, but we are not.